Google+ Facebook Twitter Twitter

Celebrating exams success in 2023

It is time to celebrate the success of more IBMS members. Below are those who passed IBMS exams last year.

Group of students celebrating a graduation - credit-istock-1495801774

In addition to the names stated below, there were 262 candidates who passed one of the Certificate of Expert Practice (CEP) qualifications with the following numbers for each of the qualifications:

Laboratory Information Technology and Clinical Informatics – 17

Leadership and Management – 61

Molecular Pathology – 18

Point of Care Testing – 36 

Quality Management – 73

Training – 57

Higher Specialist Diploma (HSD)

The following individuals passed the HSD exams that they sat in September 2023.

Cellular Pathology

Cátia Candido – The Doctors Laboratory - Northwick Park Hospital

Benjamin Eggington – Wythenshawe Hospital, Manchester

Valentina Frailis – Harrogate District Hospital

Mark Housley – Queen’s Medical Centre, Nottingham

Rebecca Simmons – Wythenshawe Hospital, Manchester

Hope Travers – Queen Elizabeth Hospital Gateshead

Clinical Chemistry

Scott Creswell – Countess of Chester Hospital

Samantha Cunnington – Queen’s Medical Centre, Nottingham

Laura Fretwell – Queen’s Medical Centre, Nottingham

Ashley Kaye – Leeds Teaching Hospitals Trust

Philip Logue – Antrim Area Hospital

Jessica Merrills – Rotherham General Hospital

Nathan Timbrell – Synnovis at Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Trust

William Van Den Bron – Nottingham University Hospital Trust


Alison Brooks – Aberdeen Royal Infirmary

Alanna Masson – Aberdeen Royal Infirmary

Zoe Pickering – Manchester University Foundation Trust (Trafford)

Charlotte Sutherby – Hull Royal Infirmary

Leadership and Management

Shabir Chucha – George Eliot Hospital, Nuneaton

Thomas Davis – Kettering General Hospital

Vanessa Grant – Forth Valley Royal Hospital

Thomas Salter – Hull Royal Infirmary

Marianne Stocking – University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire

Laura Wright – Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital           

Medical Microbiology

Dionne Coyle – Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh

Sarah Drydale – Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Nicola Hull – Craigavon Area Hospital

Dale Nesbitt – Craigavon Area Hospital

Robert Oxley – Freeman Hospital, Newcastle upon Tyne

Justina Spyrka – Calderdale Royal Hospital

Transfusion Science

Philippa Everton – Diana Princess of Wales Hospital, Grimsby

Cassandra Hemmings – Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board


The following individuals were successful in passing the written and microscopy exams held in 2023.

Advanced Specialist Diploma (ASD) in Diagnostic Cytopathology

Iain Birse – Queen Elizabeth Hospital Gateshead

Isobel O’Donnell – Altnagelvin Area Hospital

Susan Smith – Path Links, Lincoln County Hospital

Histopathology Reporting

To achieve this qualification candidates have passed the Stage A, B and C portfolios and exams at Stages A and C.

ASD in Dermatopathology Reporting

Judith Rich – Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle upon Tyne

Jemma Wood – Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital

ASD in Gastrointestinal Histopathology Reporting

Cheryl Fyfe – Harrogate District Hospital

Jade McAlinn – Royal Free Hospital, London

Mary Mc Elroy – Altnagelvin Area Hospital

Fiona Morgan – University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff

Amanda Rainbow – Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

Jacqueline Strachan – Aberdeen Royal Infirmary

Julie Watson – Royal Stoke University Hospital

James Woodland – Royal Surrey County Hospital

ASD in Gynaecological Histopathology Reporting

Sandra Iles – Charing Cross Hospital, London

Image credit | iStock

Related Articles