# IBMS AGM: PRESTIGIOUS AWARDS AND PRIZES



he 75th annual general
meeting of the IBMS took
place in Aberdeen on 3 June.
As well as the Council
election results (see page
40), there were an array of
awards and prizes. The
awards were to recognise
members' contributions and support to
the Institute and the prizes awarded
included Company Members Prizes.

### **AWARDS**

### 50 Year Medal

This medal is awarded to members with half a century of continuous membership.

In recognition of his continuous membership and dedication to the Institute, an IBMS 50 year medal was awarded to John Hepworth.



John's career began at the Public Health Laboratory in Wakefield in 1966. Since then he has earned a reputation as an expert in microbiology, with his work being published in journals such as *The Lancet* and *Thorax*. John was involved in the founding of the IBMS North West Region in 1994, where he was elected branch secretary. He has since represented the region at Council and has organised meetings, symposia and today he organises publicity for his local branch. He was awarded Life Membership in 2013.

# **Honorary Membership**

IBMS Honorary Membership is awarded to an individual who has shown an exceptional level of service to the IBMS at the branch or regional level.

While he was unable to be present at the AGM, the IBMS was pleased to note the awarding of IBMS Honorary Membership to Ronald Templeton.

Ronald joined the IBMS in 1959 when the IBMS was still the Institute of Medical Laboratory Technology. He acted as a CPD officer for the Institute and worked as a Senior Training Tutor and Lecturer at John Moores University in Liverpool, where his collaboration with Programme Leader Dr Janice Harland developed a 10-credit module called "Preparing for Work" which, combined with a one-year placement, led to what is today known as the coterminous/integrated degree used by universities around the UK. He also was a founding member of the Institute's microbiology discussion group.

## Life Membership

IBMS Life Membership is awarded to formally recognise a person's considerable contribution and support to the Institute across a number of years.

The Institute was pleased to award Life Membership to members Betty Kyle and Dr David Petts.

Betty joined the IBMS as a Fellow in 1983 and became a Chartered Fellow in 2004. She has devoted years of service to the IBMS; as a Regional Council Member, as well as acting as a Specialist Diploma Examiner for Haematology and a Registration Portfolio Verifier. Today she works in the haematology department at Wishaw General Hospital, where she is the Strategic Lead Biomedical Scientist

for Haematology in Lanarkshire and the Lead Healthcare Scientist for Education in NHS Lanarkshire laboratories.

David joined the IBMS in 1961 and became an IBMS Fellow in 1967. He was an examiner for the IBMS Fellowship examination and acted as a portfolio assessor and acted as a member of the Joint Working Group on Quality Assurance for 10 years, before his retirement in 2005. Since then he has been working on building a new catalogue for the IBMS library's Mercer Collection, reorganising the library and archiving its historic collections, which are now housed at the Wellcome Trust. He is currently chair of the History Committee and the Medical Sciences Historical Society.

IBMS President Ian Sturdgess said: "These members have shown a passion for the field, skill and dedication to the Institute and profession. It is my pleasure to recognise their achievements today."

The Institute is delighted to recognise the achievements of these members at this year's AGM. For more information about these awards and the nomination process, see the IBMS website.

### PRI7FS

# The Company Members Prize for the Higher Specialist Diploma (HSD)

Since 2007, this prize - a £250 cheque and a certificate - has been annually awarded to the candidates who in their first attempt receive the highest mark in each discipline of the Higher Specialist Diploma examination.

For their performance in the 2016 examinations, the following candidates were awarded the prize:

- Claire Birnie from Aberdeen Royal Infirmary for the Higher Specialist Diploma in Clinical Chemistry
- Joanne Raistrick from Wycombe Hospital in High Wycombe, for the Higher Specialist Diploma in Cytopathology
- Patricia Ryan from Wishaw General Hospital, for the Higher Specialist Diploma in Haematology
- Sarah Irene Griffin from Belfast City Hospital, for the Higher Specialist Diploma in Transfusion Science
- Tonya Bacon from Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Woolwich, for the Higher Specialist Diploma

in Immunology.

While some members were unable to attend this year's AGM, the Institute wishes to note the awarding to:

Poonam Singh from
 Charing Cross Hospital in
London, for the Higher Specialist

- Diana Jackson from Sheffield Teaching Hospital, for the Higher Specialist Diploma in Leadership and Management
- Matthew O'Dwyer from Queen Alexandra Hospital in Portsmouth, for the Higher Specialist Diploma in Medical Microbiology.

Diploma in Cellular Pathology

The IBMS congratulates all the winners and wishes them the best luck in future endeavours



This prize is awarded to the candidate who achieves the highest mark across all Diploma of Expert Practice qualifications.

This prize was awarded to Dr Jemma Wood from the Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital, who achieved the highest mark across all Diploma of Expert Practice qualifications in Histological Dissection.

# The RJ Lavington Prize

This prize - a £500 cheque and a silver medal - was established in 1977 in memory of Richard Lavington, who was General Secretary of the Institute for 22 years.

This prize has been annually awarded to the candidate who at the first attempt receives the highest mark in the Higher Specialist Diploma examination across all disciplines.

This year's prize was awarded to Tonya Bacon who attained the Higher Specialist Diploma in Immunology.