Google+ Facebook Twitter Twitter

Biomedical scientist of the year

The IBMS is sponsoring the Biomedical Scientist of the Year category at this year’s Advancing Healthcare Awards (AHAwards).

The award recognises an exceptional biomedical scientist who has used their skills and expertise to advance practice in an innovative and impactful way, making a difference to patients’ lives and inspiring those around them.

To apply for this award, nominees must hold HCPC registration and be a practising biomedical scientist based in the UK.

Self-nominations are accepted, and you can also nominate your colleagues or encourage them to nominate themselves.

Nominees for the Biomedical Scientist of the Year must be able to demonstrate leadership and teamwork, measurable achievements and an impact on patient care.

The overall winner in 2018 was Malcolm Robinson, Chief Biomedical Scientist in blood transfusion at Western Sussex NHS Hospitals Foundation Trust, for his Harvey’s Gang project. Malcolm was also winner of the Health Services Laboratories Biomedical Scientist of the Year Award 2018 and has gone on to be a winner in the BBC One Show NHS Patients Awards.

The deadline for submissions for 2019 is 14 January and a celebration lunch and awards ceremony will be held on 12 April.

The AHAwards website offers more information about the awards, including a guide on writing a winning entry.

Related Articles